Prof. em. Dr Michael Haller, Chairman

Until his retirement in the fall of 2010, Michael Haller was Professor of General and Specialised Journalism Studies at the University of Leipzig. Following studies in philosophy, social and political sciences at Freiburg and Basel, he worked as editor at SPIEGEL and department manager at ZEIT. As Scientific Director of the Institute for Practical Journalism and Communications Research, he heads the Quality Assurance in Journalism section. He is co-editor of MESSAGE, the International Journal for Journalism.


Martin Hoffmann, Vice Chairman

Martin Hoffmann’s Ph.D thesis investigates the contradiction of independence and control of public-service broadcasters in Europe. Martin Hoffmann studied Political Sciences and Cultural Studies at the European University Frankfurt/Oder and in Iasi/Romania and Journalism in Leipzig (M.A.).

He also works as an editor for the daily news magazine “heute journal” broadcasted by Second German Television (ZDF) in Mainz. Besides, he worked for MDR (First-German-TV-Network), has proofread two scientific books and published two studies on the connection between “lying press”-allegations and attacks on journalists in Germany for the ECPMF, which gained international attention.


Stephan Seeger, Executive Board

Stephan Seeger is Director Foundations of Sparkasse Leipzig and Executive Chairman of the European Institute for Journalism and Communication Research (EIJC). In addition, Seeger is also Managing Director of Media Foundation, the Kultur- und Umweltstiftung Leipziger Land (Leipziger Land Culture and Environment Foundation), Vice-Chairman of the Sparkassenstiftung für die Region Torgau-Oschatz (Sparkasse Foundation for the Torgau-Oschatz region) and member of the Executive Board of the European Centre for Press and Media Freedom (ECPMF).

From 1993 to 1998, Seeger was spokesman for the president of the Regierungspräsidium Leipzig (Leipzig Regional Council). He studied Modern History, Historical Complementary Sciences, Philosophy and Protestant Theology at the Eberhard Karls University in Tübingen.

Tel.: 0341-562 96 61
Fax: 0341-562 96 63